In 1992, CoHemis began to form a hemispheric network of institutions committed to collaborate with the Center’s mission and objectives. This network constitutes an unique and comprehensive pool of resources for collaborations in science and engineering. The international seminars, short courses, workshops, and conferences produced by CoHemis and its Consortium result in benefits for the entire Americas. In recent years several efforts have been directed to Europe. Therefore, new collaborations in oceanography have now allowed two institutions from Spain to join our Consortium.

The CoHemis Consortium currently consists of 52 institutions from 20 countries of the Americas, the Caribbean, and Spain. This Consortium includes 37 universities and 15 institutions of science and technology which are looking to expand their participation in collaborative activities for mutual benefits through a memorandum of understanding.
>Click here to see the template of the MOU

The members of the CoHemis Consortium are:
(Click on the name of the institution to see the MOU)

Carribean Region

Haití-Université Quisqueya
Dominican Republic-INTEC
Dominican Republic-SEESCYT
Trinidad & Tobago-University of the West Indies
Puerto Rico-University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez

North America (United States)

Argone National Laboratory
Colorado State University
Georgia Institute of Technology
Kutztown University
Lehigh University
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Sandia National Laboratories
University of Florida

Central America

Costa Rica-Universidad de Costa Rica
Guatemala-Universidad Rafael Landívar
México-Universidad de Guadalajara
México-Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
México-Universidad Panamericana
Panamá-Universidad Tecnológica de Panamá

South America

Argentina-Universidad Nacional de Córdoba
Argentina-Universidad Nacional de Río Cuarto
Argentina-Universidad Tecnológica Nacional
Bolivia-Universidad Mayor de San Simón
Brazil-Pontificia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro
Brazil-Escola Politécnica da Universidade de Sao Paulo
Chile-Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Chile- Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso
Chile-Universidad de Chile
Chile-Universidad de Antofagasta
Chile-Consejo de Decanos de Facultades de Ingeniería
Chile-Universidad Católica del Norte
Colombia-Escuela Colombiana de Ingeniería
Colombia-Instituto Geográfico Agustín Codazzi
Colombia-Universidad Autónoma del Caribe
Colombia-Universidad de Cartagena
Colombia-Universidad Industrial de Santander
Colombia-Universidad del Norte en Barranquilla
Colombia-Universidad de los Andes
Ecuador-Escuela Superior Politécnica del Litoral
Guyana-University of Guyana
Perú-Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología
Perú-Universidad César Vallejo
Perú-Universidad de Piura
Uruguay-Universidad de la República
Venezuela-Universidad del Zulia
Venezuela-Universidad Simón Bolívar


Spain-Instituto Canario de Ciencias Marinas
Spain-Instituto Español de Oceanografía