Segundo Simposio sobre Estudios del Pasado
 

Inicio Objetivos Programa OradoresExhibicionesAuspiciadoresPresentacionesVideos FotosAvalúoContactos

 

ORADORES E INVITADOS ESPECIALES
 

Dr. Robert Carneiro
carneiro@amnh.org
Vitae

The Checkered History of Amazonian Chiefdom: The concept of the chiefdom, as a formal category of political organization, dates only from 1955, having been introduced into anthropology by Kalervo Oberg in that year. Of course, there had been a rough awareness of it before, as including societies more complex than autonomous villages but less complex than states. Thus Julian Steward as editor of the Handbook of South American Indians, entitled the volume dealing with these intermediate cultures "The Circum-Caribbean Tribes". Read more>
 
Dr. Edward Kurjack
ebkurjack@cfl.rr.com
jaguarcoati@yahoo.com

Vitae

The evolutionary status of societies is assessed by the way they use energy. Centralization of political power is a key process in the formation of chiefdoms and states. All societies use energy to modify their environment, but the kind of massive human activity resulting from concentration of the control over energy resources is most prominently exhibited by monumental architecture. A building serves the purposes of a social group and the quantity of energy expended in its construction reflects the size, social standing and political power of that group. Thus the distribution of architecture reflects social organization.
 
Ms. Elizabeth Georgian
egeorgian@gmail.com
Vitae

The Pollination of Manihot Esculenta (yuca) and It’s Importance to Archeology: A Beginning Study Research Abstract Manihot esculenta (yuca) is an important root crop plant in the tropics. It is one of the world’s most productive crop plants in terms of calories. I will be discussing how new varieties of yuca arise and why this is of important to the field of archeology. Palynological evidence of ancient Manihot sp. will also be discussed. This study will provide insight into the relationships between botany and archeology, and will also propose integrated disciplines in the continued study of yuca.
 
Dr. Juan C. Martinez
Departamento de Biología, UPR-Mayagüez
jumartin@uprm.edu

Vitae
 
Arql. Juan J. Ortiz Aguilú
Departamento de Biología, UPR-Mayagüez
jjortiz@uprm.edu
 
Dr. Jesus D. Chinea
Departamento de Biología, UPR-Mayagüez
jdchinea@yahoo.com

Vitae
 
Reniel Rodriguez
Departamento de Ciencias Sociales, UPR-Utuado
renielrodriguez@gmail.com

Vitae
 
Dr. Jalil Sued Badillo
Departamento de Ciencias Sociales General, UPR-Río Piedras
kesruan@hotmail.com
 
Dr. Agamemnon Gus Pantel
Universidad Politécnica de Puerto Rico
pantel@att.net
 
Dr. Johaness Schellekens
Departamento de Geología, UPR-Mayagüez
schellek@uprm.edu
 
Edwin Crespo
Departamento de Ciencias Sociales General, UPR-Río Piedras
ecrespo@uprrp.edu
 
Ismael Pagan Trinidad
Departamento de Ingeniería Civil y Agrimensura, UPR-Mayagüez
ismael.pagan@gmail.com